Asian Pork Chops

Another recipe? Gasp! What is this? This is me, trying to expand my horizons a little bit. 🙂

We are not big pork eaters. I grew up eating my dad’s grilled pork chops and my mom’s pork tenderloin but Jeremy didn’t seem interested in eating it, so for the first few years of our marriage I didn’t bother cooking it. We do, however, eat a lot of chicken. A lot. So sometimes, it is nice to break that up with something different.

I had intended to follow a recipe I found over at Mel’s Kitchen Cafe. It was for the slow cooker but when I got my chops out of the freezer, I thought they were too puny for my 6-qt slow cooker. (I’m stingy with my grocery money.) So I thought, well I’ll just make the sauce on the stove top and sear the pork chops. But then I realized I was missing an ingredient. So I had to improvise. This was the outcome.

Asian Pork Chops
adapted from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe

  • 4 Pork chops
  • 1-2 tb. Olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup hoisin sauce
  • 2 Tb. packed brown sugar
  • red pepper flakes (your preference, I just used a dash)
  • cornstarch and water (for thickening up the sauce. I used a Tb. of each but it made the sauce a little too thick for my preference. I’d try a tsp. of each next time.)

1. In a bowl mix the soy sauce, hoisin sauce, brown sugar and red pepper flakes.

2. Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat and cook the pork chops until done. Remove to a plate.

3. Reduce the heat a little and add the garlic to the pan and stir until golden. Add the sauce mixture and let it simmer a few minutes. Stir the cornstarch and water together and add it to the skillet. Let the sauce thicken up a bit and return the pork chops to the pan. Heat through.

4. Serve with brown rice and broccoli! Or whatever makes you happy. 🙂

Another awesome phone picture. (Do you hear the sarcasm?)

 

This post is linked up at Tasty Tuesday (click on blue frog to view links) and Tempt my Tummy Tuesday.

    • pam foster
    • April 12th, 2011

    yummm – those look great and tasty looking. what is hoisin sauce?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment