Mom’s Mexican Lasagna

I don’t know where this recipe came from. Well, I mean it’s my mom’s recipe but I’m not sure where she got it, or if she made it up but whatever. It is delicious! One of my favorites and it was one of the first meals I made for my hubby back when we were just “hanging out.” I’d like to think that my cooking is one of the things that made him love me… but I’m not sure if that’s true. Regardless, this is a tasty dish and super simple to put together! It is just what your menu plan is looking for. 😉

Mom’s Mexican Lasagna

1 lb. ground beef
1 can refried beans
12 uncooked lasagna noodles
2 1/2 cups picante sauce
2 1/2 cups water
1 cup shredded Monterrey Jack cheese

1.  Preheat oven to 350. Brown ground beef and drain the fat. Return to the pan.

2. Stir in the refried beans until mixed well.

3. In a 9×13 dish layer 4 lasagna noodles, 1/2 the beef and bean mixture, 4 more noodles, the rest of the beef/bean mixture and top it with 4 more noodles.

4. Stir together the picante sauce and water and pour over the lasagna.

Do not be scared. It's liquidy but everything is going to be alright. I promise!

5. Cover tightly with foil. Bake for an hour and half or until noodles are done.

See? I told you 🙂

6. Remove foil, top with cheese and bake for 5 more minutes or until cheese is nice and melted.

So good!

7. Serve with sour cream!

 

This post is linked to:

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

