WFMW: Fancy Ice Cream

I love a good bowl of ice cream. I mean, who doesn’t? My husband and I, however, do not have the same taste in flavors. He’s more of a vanilla fan, while I’m all about the chocolate, with chunks of yummy goodness all up in there. I don’t always have room in the grocery budget to get more than one container of ice cream. It’s like 4 bucks, yo! I just can’t dole out that kind of cash. So I’ve created a way to compromise. He gets vanilla bean ice cream and I get fancy toppings!

I’ve thus far created two versions of my fancy ice cream toppings. The first one is peanutty delicious! I take a big (don’t skimp!) spoonful of natural peanut butter and warm it in the microwave for 20 seconds or so it’s nice and drizzly. Drizzle it over that plain ol’ vanilla bean. Next, dice up half a banana and sprinkle it on top. Or a whole one if you please, but bananas go quick around so I have to ration. Last, but not least, sprinkle on a handful of chopped nuts. Can  you say yum!? This one is really tasty and it’s a pretty healthy way to spruce up plain ice cream.

Now the next one is not healthy.

It’s not for dieters.

Or for those weird people that don’t like chocolate.

I repeat: It’s not great for your waistline. (If you are watching that kind of thing…)

But it is oh. so. satisfying.

I like to call this one the Chocolate Oatmeal crumble. Melt a Tb or 2 of butter. Mix in a Tb of flour (trust me!), a Tb of brown sugar, 2 to 3 Tb of quick oats, and a Tb or 2 of chocolate chips. If you go with one Tb of butter it’ll be more like an actual baked cookie. If you go with 2 Tb of butter it’ll be more like cookie dough. Now spoon that baby right on over some vanilla ice cream. And then come back and thank me for bringing this into your life. If you want to fancy this up even more, find yourself some cinnamon ice cream and you’ve got Ben & Jerry’s Oatmeal Cookie Chunk! My favorite 🙂

Even Jeremy liked this one and he is usually anti-chocolate. So, that is how I get through these cartons of vanilla bean.

What’s your favorite way to eat ice cream?

I’m linked up at We Are That Family!

    • hubs
    • June 1st, 2011

    you’re plain ol’ vanilla bean!

    • BrothersFullam
    • June 1st, 2011

    have.mercy.that.sounds.amazing. 🙂 you and jeremy are so me and gerry switched. i want my plain ol’ nilla bean and he wants his hoity toity cookie/nut/chunk/coconut/swirl!

  1. I loved this post! I was a HUGE ice cream fanatic before we nixed dairy and it was the one thing that I missed really badly! Oatmeal Cookie Chunk was my fave too! That sounds sooooo good! I will have to try it with g-free stuff! 🙂 My current fave way to eat ice cream……coconut milk! I love pomegranate chip coconut milk ice cream but it’s really, really expensive so I don’t have it much!

    • Bro
    • June 1st, 2011

    I could’ve sworn Jeremy’s favorite was s-s-strawberry. And vanilla.

  2. Wow…those toppings sound amazing! I’m with you. I can’t eat plain old vanilla ice cream. It’s just so plain and boring…never have liked it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

