Top Ten Tuesday: Biblical Easter Crafts!

My house church has been trying really hard this year to make Easter about more than baskets, bunnies and eggs. It has been really challenging me to think about what I am doing to teach my kids about God and who He is and our need for Him. I don’t have a problem letting my kids participate in egg hunts or receive baskets. That is something I grew up with and a big part of the way my family does holidays. I do, however, want Easter to be more about the resurrection than the Easter bunny. I want them to focus on the real meaning behind the celebration, Jesus’ ultimate sacrifice and being risen from the dead. Hallelujah!

That being said, here are some really cool crafts I and my house church ladies have come across in our search for ideas for the kiddos. In no particular order here they are!

10. Resurrection Eggs: Kristen over at We Are That Family gives you instructions on how to make homemade resurrection eggs. You find little things around the house that symbolize parts of the Easter story and put them in Easter eggs. You open up the eggs as you tell the Easter story. I have to say this idea is pretty cool. My 2 1/2 yr. old has picked up a lot more than I thought she would!

9. BFF Erinne shares a way to make dyeing eggs a symbolic activity! I think this is a fantastic idea.

8. Resurrection rolls: Jen at Beauty and Bedlam shares a way to talk about Jesus and the empty tomb using crescent rolls and marshmallows!

7. Easter story cookies: Tiffany at Eat at Home shares a cookie recipe that also symbolizes the death and resurrection of Jesus.

6. Danielle’s Place has several ideas for biblical Easter crafts. Scroll down the whole page… there is one cool craft using Jelly beans and assigning meaning to their colors and another craft involving Jesus’ ascension into Heaven.

5. Erinne also found this tomb/stone craft .

4. Thriving Family has a list of activities to do this week (one each day) to celebrate Holy Week. (There are some really great ideas! Especially for school-age children)

Uh oh… looks like I’m 3 ideas short. Do you have any craft/activity ideas to share the resurrection story?

I’m linked up to Top Ten Tuesday over at Oh Amanda.

    • Jen
    • April 19th, 2011

    This lady has had some interesting posts. There was one about having a (puzzle) cross that is rough and purple on one side, and white and smooth on the other.
    http://watkinseveryflavorbean.blogspot.com/2011/03/lenten-cross.html

    She also had a post about prayer and coloring with children that was really great.
    http://watkinseveryflavorbean.blogspot.com/2011/03/praying-in-color.html

    The link I’ve included is a list of links for helping children worship God through playing.

    http://watkinseveryflavorbean.blogspot.com/p/godly-play.html

    Enjoy!!! 🙂

  1. Great ideas! Thanks for sharing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment