Love and Chopsticks

Tonight was  a fun night. 🙂

To celebrate Valentine’s Day, my love took me to dinner. Alone. No kids. 🙂 (Don’t worry, they had more fun with Memaw and Pop Pop anyway.) We checked out a new restaurant at The Greene, called Choe’s Asian Gourmet. I thought I’d tell you about it. 🙂

I’ve never written a review before, other than for these amazing photographers, so bear with me.

We arrived at Choe’s a half hour before our reservation. I know, I know. The Tumpaks? Early? Unheard of! Well it happened, I kid you not. The hostess was very nice and seated us right away. Unfortunately, the table next to us was a little too close for comfort. So if you want privacy, don’t let them seat you in the center section. 🙂

The menu is neat, because it’s not just Chinese food. They have your basic Chinese take-out style dishes, but they also have Thai food and Sushi. The table next to us ordered a plate of sushi and while I wouldn’t touch it with a ten-foot pole, it looked cool.

We started with the Shanghai rolls and they were everything I hoped they’d be! Hot, crispy and fresh tasting with a sweet and slightly spicy sauce. Jeremy had the Siam Duck and I had the Mango Chicken. Jeremy liked his but wouldn’t order it again. In fact, his exact words were “don’t let me order duck again.”  Mine was delicious! I was a little nervous about ordering it, but it turned out to be extremely tasty. I recommend it!

Everyone was friendly and efficient. When the girl next to us spilled her drink there were three people there right away, cleaning it up and getting her a fresh drink. As we were putting our coats on, a waiter came out of nowhere and said, “leaving us already? Have any big plans?” When we told him we were heading home to our kids he said, “you guys aren’t old enough to have kids!” I wanted to give him a tip right there, even though he wasn’t our waiter.

All in all, it was a good experience and I wouldn’t hesitate to eat there again. It is similar to PF Chang’s but it wasn’t  obnoxiously loud. And our waitress didn’t sneakily get Jeremy to buy a $17 glass of wine. But that’s a story for another day. If you are looking for a new restaurant to try, check out Choe’s! I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

What about you? How did you (or how are you going to) celebrate Valentine’s Day?

    • BrothersFullam
    • February 12th, 2011

    ah, awesome. i was wondering if there would ever be another asian restaurant to visit that wasn’t pfchangs or takeout. we’ll have to go there sometime 🙂 good review!

      • Jonelle
      • February 14th, 2011

      i agree with erinne! we’re not really fans of pfchangs either, but sometimes want just a little different something than takeout. 🙂 thanks for posting!

  1. February 14th, 2011

Leave a Reply

