How Mangoes Saved my Life

Okay so maybe they didn’t save my life…but they certainly saved my sanity.

It was 5:30. I had the crockpot, microwave, oven and stove all going…trying to get dinner on the table. Jeremy was working late so I was holding down the fort all by myself. Out of nowhere, two little girls were at my feet crying and whining.

What is it about this time of day that makes kids go crazy?

Like a flash of lightning, it hit me. Frozen mango slices! I pop both girls in their high chair/booster seat. I whip out Sofi’s mesh thingie. I toss a mango slice in, throw one in the air to Amelia (ok, I just handed it to her…but it was a nice image, yeah?) and instantaneous peace and quiet.  Ahh. Sweet, sweet peace and quiet.

It lasted just long enough for me to get the food ready.

Thank you, Meijer for your unsweetened, frozen mango slices that are frequently on sale. You are my new favorite thing. For now… unless you raise the price of bananas too.

    • pam foster
    • February 12th, 2011

    cute, see you are getting the hang of it. You just have to find what works and be prepared ahead of time. You will get more and more creative as time goes by. You will be an expert very very soon

    • rae
    • February 12th, 2011

    I can’t make dinner without breaking out either… raisins, rice cakes, baby carrots, dried apricots, whatever veggies I happen to be cutting up, cheese sticks, or just whatever I have available. 🙂 Avi and Ryan would be fine but Azia will hold on to my legs and beg for food. 🙂

    • BrothersFullam
    • February 12th, 2011

    cheesesticks are our life saver round these parts. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

