Winging It

I’ve always sort of winged it when it comes to chili. I’ve never followed a recipe. I had a basic idea in my head each time…but no set rules to follow when I bust out the chili pot. Well, I think I’m done. From now on, I am looking for a “go-to” chili recipe and once I find it, I’m not gonna budge.

I tried making chili the other night. Tried? Come on, Amanda. It’s not that hard. No? Well we ended up having Subway for dinner. Ok?

I thought we had chili in the freezer. I thought what I laid out on the counter to defrost was chili. Turns out it was no such thing. It definitely had chili powder in it, but it also had some chicken that was very gray. I threw it out. So an hour before dinner, I’m rooting around in the pantry and freezer, hoping I have the ingredients to make a fresh pot of chili. I found a can of diced tomatoes, a large can of tomato puree, some tomato juice I had frozen into cubes, a lb. of ground beef, and some onion. Oh, and don’t forget the celery. My precious celery.

Not quite the typical ingredients in my chili, but close enough. Or so I thought. I suppose it would have turned out okay if I hadn’t run out of chili powder. I like a TON of chili powder in my chili. I got about a tablespoon and a half in before I realized that it was gone. Oh no. I tasted it. Ick. It tasted like straight tomato puree. So I panicked. I started grabbing spices left and right. A little of this, a little of that. Tasted it…still straight tomato puree. I grabbed the pepper. That was my biggest mistake. I was just planning to sprinkle some in. Really, just a little. About a tablespoon plopped in before I could stop it. I tasted it again and gagged. Straight tomato puree combined with way too much pepper. Gag me. Were my taste buds broken? Why couldn’t I taste all of the spices I had added? And why, oh why did I have to run out of chili powder.

Well, my turkey sub was pretty tasty and I’ve got a lot of nasty chili in my freezer. My plan is to buy more chili powder and try to fix it. I don’t know if it’s going to work. But I hate knowing I wasted a lb. of ground beef. What to do, what to do.

So, I’m currently in the market for a new chili recipe. Who’s got one they want to share? 😉

    • Jonelle
    • February 11th, 2011

    oh! i do! i’ll dig it out to day and send to to you! 🙂
    -J

  1. So funny! I still have yet to make the chili that I was supposed to make last week! I want it sooo bad but I can’t seem to get to it! Today (I hope) is the day! You could drain a lot of the tomato and try to make sloppy joes out of it???

    • BrothersFullam
    • February 11th, 2011

    i’ve got mine! but you know, it’s got cashews and chocolate in it. 😉

      • pam foster
      • February 11th, 2011

      WHAT! ARE YOU JOKING????

    • rae
    • February 13th, 2011

    i keep thinking i’ll try a new recipe but i keep going back to the same awesome one i’ve been using for 4 years. it’s from america’s test kitchen family cookbook. i used it the other day with venison and it turned out REALLY delicious! 🙂 the downsize of this recipe is mincing 6 cloves of garlic, but if you have garlic in a jar, that part is solved. i like that it uses puree and crushed or diced tomatoes so its thick but still has some tomato pieces. it uses 1/4 cup of chili powder so make sure you have enough. 😉 also, i don’t even put ANY of the cayenne that it calls for, a lot of the time. my kids don’t like it spicy. other times, i just put in 1/2 the amount called for and i think it’s plenty spicy. 🙂
    oh, we don’t use limes either, and we use black beans instead of kidneys, this recipe makes a LOT. (so you could freeze half of it like we do!) 🙂
    http://www.cooking.com/recipes-and-more/recipes/Simple-Beef-Chili-with-Kidney-Beans-recipe-7629.aspx

  1. February 14th, 2011
  2. April 19th, 2011

Leave a Reply

