Fiasco.

Why is it that any type of legal errand always turns into a fiasco?

My license expired on my birthday back in December. I finally got around to renewing it yesterday. Had I known there was a $20 late fee, I wouldn’t have waited so long. Ah well. Here’s how it went down.

I decided to go before grocery shopping, which already made me a little nervous. I get one shot to go grocery shopping sans kids each week. Well, most weeks. So I had a bad feeling about taking time out of my preciousย  solo excursion to do something so annoying as renewing my license. But hey, it had to be done. So I get there and take a number (85). I’ve got about six people ahead of me. It seems like things are moving pretty fast. They call number 83 and I have this sudden pang of fear. I think to myself, “Am I going to need some kind of document?”

Of course I did.

My old address was on my license. They wanted proof of my new address. The clerk handed me a list of 28 accepted forms of proof of address. 28! I had not a single one with me.

Luckily, my bank is across the street. I needed to deposit a check anyway. Unfortunately, the extremely nice bank teller couldn’t print out what I needed for the BMV. So I had to wait. And wait. And wait some more. I finally get called back into an office where the nice woman proceeded to get me to sign up for this credit card and that credit card, and enroll in some promotional thing. I don’t know. Finally, she prints out what I needed. Back to the BMV I go.

By this point I’ve lost an hour of my grocery shopping time. Grr. I go back to the BMV and there’s no wait! Yippee! So I’m filling out the form and things are moving along. The clerk tells me how much I owe, I whip out my credit card. “We don’t take cards.” Poop! Now, I realize up to this point, the problems have been my fault for not checking into the process before I went. I take responsibility for that. Well, I guess I should take responsibility for not having checked whether or not they accepted credit cards. But honestly, who doesn’t accept credit cards these days! The clerk points to the ATM they have in the corner. Whew! Saved by the…oh snap. The machine only spits out multiples of 20 and charges a fee. So I had to take out more than I needed and lost 3 bucks in the process. Yeah, it’s just 3 bucks, but that’s like a bag of apples at the grocery store! So thank you, BMV for depriving my family of a bag of apples. Ok I’m just kidding. ๐Ÿ™‚ I came home with a bag of apples.ย  What really annoys me is having part of my grocery money in cash and part of it in the bank. I know it’s not a big deal. I KNOW it’s not. But it’s like a really annoying thing to me. I hate having cash. And yes, I could have gone back to the bank and deposited it. But come on…that’s just silly. ๐Ÿ™‚

So I pay. And have my picture taken. And it’s terrible, of course. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And then it’s done.

Luckily I got my groceries and got home before Nana had to leave. And other than the fact that Kroger raised the price of bananas, it went well.

I’ll be ready for you next time, BMV. You will not take me down!

    • BrothersFullam
    • February 10th, 2011

    i’m crying i’m laughing so hard ๐Ÿ™‚ i’m glad you still got your apples. but what’s up with raising the price of bananas?!

    • I don’t know! Last week, Meijer still had them at .49/lb but this is two weeks in a row that Kroger had them at .54/lb. Can you believe that ridiculousness! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  1. I did the same thing last year! I didn’t even know that my license had expired. BOO! Feel your pain.

  2. I hate the BMV! You know, even if you call…they aren’t much help! And it annoyed me that the bananas were expensive too! ;-P

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

