Thoughts on Snow

I’m usually the first to complain about snow. If it’s not Christmas morning…I really don’t care to see it. If it’s enough to keep Jeremy home from work, it’s really just a nuisance. Today, however, I find myself feeling a little different.

I’m slightly, slightly thankful for snow.

I caught a glimpse of our backyard today and was taken by how beautiful it was. It was so clean and sparkly. Pristine. Not a single mark on the entire blanket covering our backyard. This in and of itself is incredibly surprising. Our backyard has sort of become a natural habitat to a mutant groundhog, a few squirrels that leave half eaten apples on our deck, and a giant raccoon. I did see Critter Control at our neighbor’s yesterday so that could explain the absence of paw prints. I sure am going to miss those big, furry, waddling butts. But I digress..

The blinding whiteness, the purity and beauty of our white backyard reminded me of something very important. It reminded me that someday, I will look like that. Someday, Jesus will come and restore me to what He has wanted me to look like all along. Someday, there will be no darkness or sin. Black marks on our record will be wiped clean. As I struggle more and more with the state of the world and the fact that I have to raise two beautiful girls in such an ugly and depraved world, I’m going to choose to take comfort in Jesus.  He will restore us. Someday. Until then, I pray.

“Restore to  me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.” Psalm 51:12


    • pam foster
    • January 21st, 2011

    JUST BEAUTIFUL SWEETIE. wHAT A WONDERFUL MESSAGE. I AM BLESSED TO HAVE YOU AS MY DAUGHTER. LOVE YOU

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

