One of Those Days

Yep. I’m having one of those days.

My kids are sick. My regularly scheduled “go grocery shopping alone” day isn’t happening. I recently acquired a huge pile of work to do from home from my old job and it’s barely been touched. I’m hungry. I haven’t showered.

My patience is slipping.

It’s days like these where this stupid little voice in my head whispers “you have no business being a mom.”  So my kids want me. Constantly.  Why am I stressing out over all the other unimportant details?

The work will get done.

I’ll shower eventually.

So we won’t be having chicken pot pie for dinner but we still have food.

It’s amazing what a call to my husband, a prayer to the Lord, a turkey sandwich and a little perspective can do.

My prayers for today ~

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.” Colossians 3:12

“Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.” Colossians 3:15

 

    • stephanie
    • January 12th, 2011

    I love your sweet spirit Amanda. Believe me, we all have one of THOSE days every now and then. I have had to tell myself that when one or all of us are sick, normalcy and expectations go right out the window…and I try to remember to pray that humility, grace and patience will follow. Love you sweet friend, and I pray your day gets better…you are a great mom!

    • pam foster
    • January 12th, 2011

    THANK YOU DEAR DAUGHTER OF MINE. I NEEDED YOUR MINISTRY TODAY AND AGREE WITH STEPHANIE, YOU ARE A GREAT MOM AND I SEE THAT EVERYTIME I AM WITH YOU. WE ALL HAVE DAYS WHEN WE FEEL SORRY FOR OURSELVES AND SEEMS NOTHING IS GOING OUR WAY. REMEMBER THAT GOD GIVES US ONLY WHAT WE CAN HANDLE. I LOVE YOU

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

