MPM Jan. 10 – Food Network Edition

Last week’s menu plan was rough. I’ll be honest. I was excited about all of the recipes I had chosen. I was less than excited when it was all said and done. I burnt two recipes, never got around to another, and the other three were just kinda….eh… nothing to write home about blog about! 😉 Anyway, it wasn’t necessarily the book’s fault. So I would still recommend you give it a peek.

I’m even more excited about this week’s menu! All our meals this week are courtesy of the Food Network (except for Saturday’s.) Yum! I’ve only tried one of these recipes before and it is amazing (the southwest chicken pot pie….scrumptious!) So hopefully, the rest turn out just as well.

On to the plan!

Monday: Plum-marinated chicken from Robin Miller with green salads and a vegetable

Tuesday: Dry-rubbed Steaks from Anne Burrell with oven fries and a vegetable ( I found a package of two tiny tiny tiny steaks at Meijer. Once cooked they’ll probably be about 3 bites each…but that’s ok. This recipe calls for huge pieces of meat but I just thought the combination of spices sounded good.)

Wednesday: Southwest Chicken Pot Pie (minus the cheese and using a pie crust on bottom and top!) from Robin Miller with a green salad

Thursday: Asian Chicken Noodle Soup from Rachael Ray (sorry there’s no link! It’s in her latest magazine if you want to find it. I’ve heard from a trusted source that this soup is a keeper!)

Friday: Slow Cooker Chicken Gumbo from Robin Miller (I’m making this with just plain ol’  chicken, no sausage or shrimp)

Saturday: celebrating Jeremy’s birthday a few days early with an Olive Garden copycat recipe – Chicken Giardino

Sunday: Leftovers!

What’s on your menu this week?

This post is linked up at orgjunkie.com. Check it out for more great menu planning resources!

  1. I love Robin Miller! Her recipes always seem so doable and not as intimidating as other food network peeps! I didn’t get to a couple of my planned recipes either! lol I guess life with two babies is just going to mean that we don’t get to things sometimes! :o) Oh and when given the option….I always opt for 2 pie crusts as well!!!

    • I have a feeling it’s going to happen again this week. I don’t think I’m going to get to the grocery tomorrow to get things I need for these recipes! Oh well 🙂

  2. These all look VERY yummy!! You must tell me if they turn out good! I’d love to try some of them.

    • The pot pie is one of my favorite dishes! You should definitely try it! The plum marinated chicken was good…not a very strong flavor….would be good chopped up in a salad or something 🙂

  3. Glad to find you through MPM. I am dairy- and soy-free. That southwest chicken pot pie sounds delicious! I was just talking to my hubby tonight about trying to make a pot pie.

    • the pot pie is amazing! i don’t use as much chicken as it calls for (we are a small family) and so I cut back on the amount of liquid it calls for. you really should try it! thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  4. Do you not just love Robin Miller’s recipes? I make her crock pot Jambalaya regularly. I have cooked many of her dishes and they are all wonderful. Have a great week!
    Melinda

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

