Realization

I realized today that I’m not cut out to have a lot of kids. I’m good with two. It’s an even number. I like evens.

4 is also an even number. But 4, when it comes to kids, is just crazy! We had a playdate today with our bffs. I have two, she has two. All two and under. Can you say crazy? Hectic? Noisy? Fun?

It was all of the above. 🙂

The highlight of the afternoon, however, had to be at the end of our mini photo shoot. Erinne was taking pictures of my Sofi in my mom’s baby dress. We had Sofi sitting in Amelia’s mini armchair. Archie was chilling on the floor and Shep and Amelia were at the little table coloring.

Within 5 seconds that all changed. Shep asks for water, I turn to get it and suddenly hear the sickening thud of Sofi belly flopping off the chair onto the floor. A split second later, everyone is crying! Archie is suddenly in need of a diaper change and is letting us know. Sofi is wailing from the shock. Shep is thirsty! And Amelia was probably just freaked out/confused from it all. I don’t even know. All I know is that it was loud. It was crazy. And I just had to laugh. 🙂

I have to say though, for our first play date alone with all four kids, and no husbands or grandmas…I think it went pretty well. Can’t wait until the next one! I might bring ear plugs though… 😉

    • Fullam
    • January 6th, 2011

    okay i’m laughing now, but in that moment i just wanted to cry. what is with the chain reaction crying? that’s never happened before! but i guess with all the “mini” that was going on, there had to be a mini meltdown too 😉

    • rae
    • January 6th, 2011

    oh man! I bet just having 2 families of kids together adds a lot to the chaos. 3 kids keeps me busy but they all have their things to do, mostly Avi+Ryan fighting and Azia climbing up on top of things. 😉 Occassionally Avi gets to play alone while Azia and Ryan harrass each other. And can you believe it’s *killing* me to wait to have another baby? I’ve told myself I need to wait til august so I can get some things done. (travel+tattoos+piercings….oh and potty training everyone before getting preg again, too.) 🙂

    • rae
    • January 6th, 2011

    just ignore my typos there. 😉 I meant to fix them and accidentally hit post before I did… oops.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

