Thankful

Thanksgiving is tomorrow! Of course you know that already. I always look forward to this holiday weekend…good food, family time, and christmas tree decorating! Growing up we always decorated the christmas tree the weekend of thanksgiving and I brought that tradition with me into marriage. I absolutely love breaking out the christmas tree and unwrapping all of the ornaments. It should be interesting trying to keep Sofi from pulling on the ornaments this year. That girl…she manages to always find the one thing that happens to be laying around that she’s not allowed to have. The list recently includes the paper insert to a dvd from the library (and yes, they are charging me for it!), Amelia’s shoe, and a computer cord. Before you call family services on me, I caught her before she chewed on the cord. She’s just like a cat. She has a million toys in front of her, yet she goes searching for trouble. That girl…she keeps me on my toes, I tell ya.

As for the food…I am going to miss out majorly this year since I can’t eat dairy. It’s going to be rough, I’m not going to lie. However, I found this little gem to brighten the holiday up a little.  Chocolate pecan pie? Yes, please…might as well just give me two slices. 😉 I am so excited to make this! I had originally found a recipe that called for bourbon, and I was all about trying it…but then I couldn’t bring myself to go into a liquor store with my kids in tow. So, I switched gears and I am just as excited about this new recipe.

To quote Veggietales “a thankful heart is a happy heart” ( I heard Amelia trying to sing this this morning and my heart melted) so I thought I should make a list of all of the things I’m thankful for this year.

1. I’m thankful for my family. For the two little joys that God has blessed me with and for my wonderful husband, who is always there for me, who works all day and then comes home and helps me out. I could not do this without him. I couldn’t ask for a better husband. Or a hotter one…I mean…he’s the hottest thing I’ve ever seen. 🙂 I’m also thankful for my brother-in-law who is living with us and who helps me out when I need it. Also for our parents and all the help they give us and for how much they love their grandchildren. My kids are very lucky.

2. I’m thankful for Jeremy’s job and that I’m able to be at home with my kids. I’m thankful that he enjoys his job as well.

3. I’m thankful for my house church and friends. Our house church may be small, and CRAZY most of the time but I love the people in it and I’m excited to see where it’s going to go in the next year and how we are all going to grow together. I’m also thankful to have other strong moms in my life as examples as we navigate this thing called parenting. I love seeing the relationships our kids are building together.  

4. Last and most importantly, I’m thankful to the Lord for giving me all of these things to be thankful for. I wouldn’t have anything if it weren’t for Him and He has blessed me infinitely beyond what I deserve. Happy thanksgiving indeed! 🙂

What are YOU thankful for?

    • boom shock
    • December 1st, 2010

    you

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

