Menu Plan Monday – Nov. 8

Last week, I mostly stuck to our meal plan. The only thing I didn’t get around to was remaking a beef vegetable bake to be dairy free. Last night I went all out with roasted chicken with caramelized shallots, broccoli and baked potatoes and even made apple crisp! It was all pretty good. The apple crisp wasn’t the best but, it was my first time. All The cooking barely left me with enough energy to eat it all!Β  My kids wear me out, I tell ya.

The southwest chicken pot pie was also pretty good. It came out too soupy so I’ll have to adapt it a little next time. I plan to add this to my freezer cooking menu. I’m going to attempt to collect recipes all this month and do a December freezer cooking menu for my family. It’s harder to find things since I can’t eat dairy right now. If you are interested in freezer cooking, check out my friend’s website, Once a Month Mom.Β  She puts together a freezer cooking menu each month, complete with directions and shopping lists.

I don’t have many links this week as most of my recipes are coming from two cookbooks I got from the library (Saving Dinner: The Menus, Recipes and Shopping Lists to Bring your Family Back to the Table and Family Feasts for $75 a week)

Monday: House Church – taking salad

Tuesday: Mashed Potato Pie, green beans

Wednesday: Garlic Lime Chicken,Β  broccoli and rice

Thursday: White Chicken Chili

Friday: Hamburgers and Cajun oven fries

Saturday: Breakfast –Peanut Butter Baked Oatmeal

Dinner – Chicken Cacciatore over egg noodles

Sunday: Leftovers

What’s on your menu plan this week?

For more menu ideas, check out I’m an Organizing Junkie.

    • rae
    • November 9th, 2010

    I’ll tell you my PLANNED menu and then what we really ate… The stomach bug hit us this week and all the plans hit the fan… (we ate things like oatmeal and soups for dinner)

    Sunday– Roast chicken, sauteed asparagus, crash hot potatoes, and flourless chocolate cake (we were supposed to have company that night, sigh) BUT instead we had Beef Barley soup with rolls
    Monday- Black bean or Split pea soup with either corn chips or baguette BUT instead, raspberry baked oatmeal
    Tuesday- Pork tenderloin with royal rice blend and roasted acorn squash (with brown sugar and butter in it) BUT instead, Roast chicken, fries, acorn squash
    Wedneday- Giant double batch of Chili and whole wheat cornbread to share with some friends
    Thursday- chicken pot pie
    Friday- maybe that black bean or split pea soup (Soup things are on my brain it seems)
    saturday- pork tenderloin with asparagus and royal rice blend.
    annnd there’s always a million cans of tomatoes and boxes of pasta in my cabinet if I get lazy and make spaghetti instead. πŸ™‚
    oh and Pumpkin pie is on my to-do list this week. And I have broccoli and butternut squash that I might use in some of the meals this week. Especially if no one is interested in bean soup, we might do broccoli and pasta…(Avi’s favorite. I like to tell myself that I do a good job cooking broccoli or my kids wouldn’t love it so much.) πŸ˜‰

    • yum! raspberry baked oatmeal!? please share the recipe? baked oatmeal has become one of my new favorite things πŸ™‚ what are crash hot potatoes?

    • rae
    • November 10th, 2010

    there are 2 recipes i use, one with butter and brown sugar and the other with honey and oil. here are both recipes: http://www.food.com/recipe/amish-baked-oatmeal-117211 and http://www.foodreference.com/html/baked-oatmeal-85.html
    you can make it the night before or not, it really doesn’t matter. As far as raspberry, I just mix in whatever fruit I want before putting it in the oven. Quick oats or old fashioned both work but old fashioned has more texture.. Oh and I’ve made baked oatmeal with plain hemp milk and it tasted just as good as with real milk! πŸ™‚

    crash hot potatoes are just baby red skinned potatoes (or smallish ones…) that are boiled completely whole til soft, then you throw them on a baking sheet and smash them down a bit with a masher or a fork, drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper and/or spices, and bake til they’re crunchy. It’s a little more work than just boiling or baking but it’s easier than peeling them. And they’re so crunchy and tasty! πŸ˜€ http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2008/06/crash-hot-potatoes/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

