Tuscan Bean Soup

I adapted this recipe from the Tuscan Chicken recipe in the book Incredibly Easy Italian. The original recipe called for Fennel bulb, which quite possibly might be the most disgusting thing I’ve ever tasted. Thus, it was eliminated from the recipe. Here’s what I did.

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary, crushed
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 lb. boneless skinless chicken thighs, cut into 3/4 inch pieces
  • 1 can stewed tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 can chicken broth
  • 1 can great northern beans, rinsed and drained
  • hot pepper sauce (optional)

1. Sprinkle chicken with rosemary, thyme and pepper. Heat olive oil in large saucepan and cook and stir chicken for 2 minutes.

2. Add tomatoes and broth and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer 10 minutes.

3. Stir in beans and simmer for 15 minutes, uncovered. Sauce should thicken a little.

4. Season with hot pepper sauce, to taste, if desired.

I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. It was my first time cooking with chicken thighs. I gotta say, they look disgusting, but the soup was actually quite good. Amelia loved it (she’s a bean lover) and she also ate quite a few bites of chicken, which is rare. She’s not a big meat eater. Jeremy’s not a huge fan of beans other than black beans but he liked it as well. Now that I know this, I can find a good white chicken chili recipe that is non-dairy. Yum! This doesn’t make a lot of broth so I would recommend doubling it if you want a lot of liquid. I think this would be really good served with some warm, crusty bread.

Hope you enjoy it!

(I can never remember to take pictures. Must work on that!)

    • hubba hubba hubs
    • September 7th, 2010

    Pepper? I thought you were supposed to use parsley and sage with your rosemary and thyme..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

