Ode to a Crockpot

*disclaimer – there will not be a lyrical poem in this post expressing my love of the crockpot. I just liked the title. Poetry and silly songs are better left to my husband, my bff, and these guys.*

I’ve had my crockpot for about 3 1/2 years and have only used it a handful of times. I’ve always been a little scared of crockpot recipes. I’ve a very “to a T” type of cook. I like specific directions and I follow them step by step. When I see the phrase “cook 6 to 8 hours on low” my mind immediately rejects the recipe. How am I supposed to know how long to cook it, especially when I’m not supposed to lift the lid off while it’s cooking!?  If there’s one thing I can’t stand when cooking, it’s overcooked meat. Well I’ve decided that I want to try using it more, because it is extremely satisfying to realize at 10 a.m. that dinner is done. Not to mention the smell wafting through my house all day.

Two weeks ago I used it to make pot roast. YUM! I used Erinne’s mama’s recipe and it was so good. It was my first time ever making pot roast and my first time ever slicing an onion. Gasp! Yes, I’ve been cooking for roughly 5 years and I’ve never cut an onion. And I’ve decided that I will never cut an onion again until the next time I make pot roast. Which will probably be soon because it was THAT good. I went to bed extremely satisfied with my pot roasting skillz. Until I woke up the next morning and realized the leftovers were still sitting in the crockpot on the stove. FAIL! I blame the kids.

Last week, I used the crockpot to make homemade chicken noodle soup. I will be adding this recipe to my permanent collection. Jeremy said it was almost as good as his mom’s so that has now become my goal. 😉 For this recipe I bought the pre-diced celery and onion mix from Meijer. No more tears! It was really good and even Amelia ate it.

This morning I put together Mexican Roundsteak. I made it during our first year of marriage and I wrote on the recipe that it was really good. It calls for cilantro and last time I made it I bought this. This time I thought I’d try using fresh cilantro for the first time in my life. That is some powerful stuff. My eyes actually starting watering so much that I thought I was slicing an onion! Here’s the recipe if you are interested. It came from some book I checked out of the library during our first year of marriage but I don’t know which book.

Mexican Roundsteak

  • 1 1/2 lbs boneless round steak, trimmed of fat
  • 1 cup frozen corn, thawed
  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 3 stalks celery, thinly sliced
  • 1 20 oz. jar chunky salsa
  • 1 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 cup beef broth
  • 1 onion, sliced ( I do not use this)

Cut beef into six pieces. Place in bottom of crockpot. Mix together all other ingredients and pour over beef. Cook on low for 8-9 hours. Sprinkle individual servings with cheese, if desired.

On Saturday, I’ll be using my crockpot to make pizza soup! I saw it on Once a Month Mom’s menu plan and decided it was a must for our menu. Except I’m using ground beef instead of sausage. Oh, and no mushrooms. We don’t do mushrooms in the Tumpak household.

So in the last few weeks, I’ve decided that the crockpot is a busy mom’s best friend and I’m going to try to use it more. If you have any favorite crockpot recipes, send them my way!

    • hubba hubba hubs
    • August 26th, 2010

    pot roasting skillz. FAIL! you’re funny.

    • Fullam
    • August 26th, 2010

    this is my life. “Until I woke up the next morning and realized the leftovers were still sitting in the crockpot on the stove. FAIL! I blame the kids.” seriously. but i blame gerry, not shep 🙂 i’m going to try this meal soon!!

  1. I totally bookmarked this recipe! And how did the Pizza Soup turn out. I think you missed out not having sausage though (he he). And you know what, i don’t normally do mushrooms either but I actually ate and enjoyed it with the mushrooms. It surprised me too.

    • oh yay! hope you enjoy it! i added a little water this time and it totally watered the taste down. so I don’t recommend doing that with the mexican roundsteak.

      we were incredibly disappointed in the pizza soup! i was bummed. i added way too much pasta and overcooked the pasta. my pepperoni had no taste ( i used a different brand for the first time. yuck.) and i think the sausage probably would have added more flavor. i’m sure putting cheese on top would have added more flavor as well!

  2. LOVE having the crockpot. Apparently my mom has a really good mexican chicken recipe for the crockpot that I’m anxious to try. As soon as I do I’ll pass it on!

    • Harriet
    • September 15th, 2010

    Crockpot London Broil
    1 London Broil
    1 can tomato soup
    1 can cream of mushroom
    1 envelope onion soup mix

    Stir together the soups and pour over the meat. Cook on low 7-8 hours.

    My kids love this and they are rather picky eaters. I got the recipe from Mommysavers.com. We serve ours over rice and there are never any leftovers. The meat will be fork tender. Also, I have found that the cheaper the tomato soup, the better the flavor.
    Hope you enjoy!

      • Michele
      • December 9th, 2010

      Just one ? what would you eat this with or would you just eat it on tortillas? It sounds really good!!

      Thanks

      • I like to eat it with rice or just in a bowl with some tortilla chips on the side…or wrap it up in flour tortillas! Whatever your preference! 🙂

  1. December 13th, 2010

Leave a Reply

