Things I Miss

1. College – I’m not sure why a lot of people think it’s a bad idea to take time off after high school before going to college. Personally, I think it’s a great idea! I had no idea what I wanted to be and I bounced around from major to major until I finally settled on something that is almost worthless. Organizational communication. REally? Of course, the fact that I have a degree makes the whole experience worth it, but I sometimes wonder if I would have gotten more out of my college education had I waited. Would I have ended up with a job that I love? Would I have learned more and retained more information because I wanted to learn, rather than I had to memorize stuff just to pass the tests? Back then, I had no idea I would miss learning new things.

2. Toledo – I spent my first two years of college at the University of Toledo. I feel like people either love it or hate it. My dad hates it because he swears that every single time he goes to Toledo it’s raining. I personally loved it. I met a lot of great people and went to a lot of great places while living in Toledo. It was the first time I had a job that I loved, I had an amazing church family and got involved in some really great outreach programs, frequented the best coffeehouse I’ve ever been to (Sufficient Grounds), met a lot of really great people, and got involved in one of my most favorite activities ever…which leads me to number 3.

3. Ballroom Dancing – while in Toledo, I joined the university’s ballroom dance team. I can’t tell you how much I miss it. Ballroom dancing became something that was all mine. My friends supported it and came to participate occasionally, but it was mine. It was something that I did for me, that I enjoyed more than anything I had ever done up to that point and for the first time I had something that I believed I was good at. ( I realize that I just ended that sentence with a preposition but I’m too tired to figure out how to reword it.) 🙂  Believe me, I still had a lot to learn and I needed to figure out how to break out of my shell, but ballroom dancing lit a fire inside of me. A fire that has never gone out and some day I hope that I can return to dancing.

4. Girls Do It Too Nights – I was part of a co-ed bible study a few years ago, and I think this started because the guys were having a poker night? I really can’t remember, and I’m pretty sure we only had one of these girls nights…maybe two…but basically it boils down to the fact that I miss girl time! Period.

5. Towhee shows – When I first met my husband Jeremy, he was the drummer for a band called Towhee . Oh. My. For those of you who don’t know, it was love at first sight for me. With his lip piercing and his rock-n-roll hair, I fell fast and I fell hard. So, in an effort to get to know him I started going to their shows. I am pretty sure I didn’t miss a single one (minus their mini tour in New Jersey and New York.) Sure, they mostly played in seedy little bars and rarely did I like any of the other bands playing with them, but there was just something magical about those shows and watching Jeremy rock out on the drums. And occasionally we did get to go to cool places, and hear some amazing music, not to mention the fact that my best friend was in love with the guitarist/trumpet player. (They got married too and now they are an awesome photography team.) Towhee shows played a huge part in my love story with my husband and they will forever hold a dear spot in my heart. Oh, I forgot to mention one important detail…Towhee sounds gooood!

5. The last one on the list (for now) Freedom! – Jeremy and I used to do things all the time. From canoeing, to going to coffee shops to play cards, to going to concerts and shows, to taking mini vacations and going to the movies…we did a lot. Now, not so much. I miss being able to do things spur of the moment and actually having a life outside of the house on the weekends, date nights and such. I know that eventually we’ll get there again…when the girls are a little older and we can ship them both off to grandma’s house every weekend, occasionally. I look forward to that time. But I better learn to enjoy the moment because soon I’ll be saying I miss having Sofi fall asleep in my arms and things like that!

  1. Loved reading this!! I need you to teach me more about ball room dancing. Josh and I took lessons once and loved it. Totally know what you mean about freedom and we only have one kid right now! Wow it’s really hard sometimes,especially with no family around. I know you are right though, pretty soon we’ll be wishing they were little again!!

    • rae
    • August 8th, 2010

    i miss spontaneity. when friends (like mejen) take off for a month to drive to california and back (this month actually) i get so envious. :p i say “in 15 years, i’ll do that!” but man that’s a long time. :p meanwhile though, i do enjoy my little girls…. i just miss adventures too..

    • Fullam
    • August 10th, 2010

    oh, yes. girls do it too nights. we should revive those once a month. i think we are all missing that girly component to life right now. i know i could use the time off and out every once in a while. just looking forward to time with all of you would be a blessing in itself! and towhee! i will bring up starting a new band to Gerry every once in a while, but as it turns out, the guys are in the same boat. he feels like he’s too busy for it. maybe he and jeremy could do a private show 🙂

    • Fullam
    • August 10th, 2010

    and now i miss Lexi (Sarah!), Jen, Natalie, Sarah, KP, Heather and all the other girls from once upon a time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

