Vulnerability

There is something about being a mom that makes me feel very vulnerable sometimes. The mother-daughter relationship can be a very fragile one and I’m already dreading the teenage years when oftentimes girls just do not get along with their moms. I (and my mother) was fortunate enough to never experience that but I’ve seen it happen a lot. We were and are very close and enjoy spending time together. I really hope Amelia and Sofia and I have that kind of relationship. But if last night is any indication…I may be in for a bumpy ride.

You’d think with Amelia only being 1 1/2 years old that this is something I wouldn’t have to worry about for a long time. I’m not so sure! Last night, I talked Jeremy into taking us out for dinner. We were waiting to be seated and there was a group of high school girls and boys across from us also waiting. One of the girls was smiling and waving at Amelia and Amelia of course was eating up the attention. She was sitting on Jeremy’s lap and Jeremy was trying to talk to her or was trying to touch her arm or something…I don’t exactly remember what he was doing but Amelia kept pushing him away and was basically just grunting at us to leave her alone. It was like “the cool kids are here, stop embarrasing me!” We couldn’t believe the way she was acting! It was so weird. Of course as I’m writing this she has her arms around my neck and her head on my shoulder. But for a few minutes last night I was terrified of what life will be like in about 12 years. Jeremy should be afraid. Very afraid. Living in a house with 3 women… 6 if you count our cats! 😉  Maybe we should all take a minute to pray for him…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

