Manners

One of the things I remember most from my childhood is my parents teaching me to say thank you. The first thing they would ask me when they picked me up from slumber parties or birthday parties or just anything that I did with another friend/family is “did you say thank you?” Saying things like please and thank you are extremely important to me and it’s something that I really want to impart to my kids. Luckily, Jeremy feels the same way and has already started working with Amelia.

Last night we discussed whether or not we started trying to hammer that in too quickly but I’m 90% sure that she said thank you this morning without me prompting her! I was in the kitchen packing Jeremy’s lunch and she was running back and forth between the kitchen and the bedroom where Jeremy was getting ready. Every time she came into the kitchen she’d hold her hand out and ask for a “bape” (grape.) Each time I gave her one, I asked her to say thank you. She would reply “tito” which is her thank you. Most of the time it’s tito…sometimes it has more of a th sound. Either way it is adorable! 😉 One of the times I forgot and I’m pretty sure she said it. It’s hard to say for sure but I’d like to think that it’s wearing off on her. When she whines and grunts for something we ask her to say please and she will. She might not understand it yet, but I’m really happy that we are starting the habit. When she whines for us to pick her up we ask her to say up, and she does. Same thing for wanting down.

I love how quickly she is picking up new words these days. It’s a lot of fun teaching her new things. I hope that the politeness and thankfulness sticks with her as she grows up. It’s such an important part of character in my mind. I think it helps that her favorite thing to watch right now is Veggietales Madame Blueberry which is all about being thankful. If you want a catchy little song about being thankful you should definitely rent it for your kids. It’s a cute one . 🙂

    • pam foster
    • April 30th, 2010

    your doing a great job with Amelia and she will make you proud just you do.

    • Fullam
    • April 30th, 2010

    what a cutie. gerry tries to get shep to say thank you and i think he has said it once. maybe mimi can work with him!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

