Pregnancy Update

So I’m down to 4 weeks left! I have started going to the doctor every week now and yesterday’s appt left me feeling lots of mixed emotions.

The first was excitement. Doc says baby is head first so that’s always a good sign! And we’ve scheduled the rest of our appts so it really feels like the baby could come any day now. Which led me to feeling nervous. I’m a little worried about it going too fast that I won’t be able to get the epidural if I decide I want it. I have such pleasant memories of Amelia’s birth and I know that it is largely due to the fact that I had the drugs. I am trying to go without it this time…but we’ll see what happens. I asked the doc what he thought about the size of Sofia and he thinks Sofia will be bigger than Amelia. That left me feeling kinda bummed. I like my tiny babies ๐Ÿ™‚ Plus, I was preparing for a tiny baby. Amelia was so tiny that she wore preemie clothes for awhile even though she wasn’t a preemie. So I have gathered up a few more (adorable!) preemie outfits and some preemie diapers. Amelia is already the runt out of her group of friends (I say that affectionately.) I’d really rather not have her little sister outgrow her as well! After the doc said he thought Sofia would be bigger he goes on to say toย Ameliaย “but she probably won’t be as cute because you are just adorable!” And that left me feeling annoyed. Doc should really know better than to say something like that in front of a 36-week pregnant lady. He’s lucky I didn’t smack him. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyway, it’s really starting to hit me just how little time is left. Next week when I hit the 37-week mark I think I’ll pack my bag for the hospital. And start praying that Amelia will be taken care of when we have to go in to the hospital. I hate that we have to leave her behind. I can’t wait for her to meet her baby sister for the first time. That will be fun!

  1. I”m praying for you! Can’t wait to meet Sofia:)

    • pam foster
    • April 21st, 2010

    dont worry about amelia, just make that call to me and I am on my way even during work hours – its all worked out. I will do whatever you need. I can’t wait !

    • rae
    • April 27th, 2010

    they say epidurals tend to slow labor down so it would make sense that this labor might be a bit swifter if you go without one. ๐Ÿ™‚ you can always look at it this way: if you have a fast labor you won’t have time to wish for an epidural. ๐Ÿ˜‰ pushing is a lot easier on your body/muscles/everything when you can feel everything and be upright, which makes recovery faster too. yay!

    my next door neighbor had a 1 hour labor last november with her first baby, so as long as your labor is longer than that then you should have plenty of time , right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. the thing with Amelia’s birth is that I didn’t have to push…they told me to push but I laughed and she popped out. It’s hard to imagine it getting any better than that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

