An Adjustment

It’s been awhile since I’ve blogged and I was gently reprimanded today by a dear friend. So I thought I’d try to come up with something. My lack of blogging  is something I chalk up to my incessant grumpiness lately. Those pregnancy mood swings are no joke! I don’t remember it that much with Amelia…while I’m sure I had them, they didn’t seem to leave a mark on my memory. This time, it’s absolutely lethal. One word, one tiny act, a look….that’s all it takes. And once it hits…it’s really hard to snap out of it. And it leaves me feeling completely ashamed.

I hate having a bad attitude. I am normally a very sunny, happy person. I love to laugh, and do it often and at everything. I like to get excited about little things. I like to say yay and clap my hands. And it hasn’t been happening very much lately. I want to blame it all on hormones, and while that is a HUGE part of it that doesn’t mean I don’t get to claim any responsibility. Ultimately, my attitude is my decision. So what if my cat is throwing up ten times a day. So what if I didn’t get to watch Pioneer Woman on The View this morning. So what if my daughter is purposely shaking milk on the carpet and starts doing it faster when she realizes I’m on my way to take it away from her. So what if my dining room has carpet (stupidest idea ever!) and that coupled with the warm weather has invited ants inside. So what if the baby bedding I had picked out for Sofia doesn’t look good with a white crib. Is it the end of the world? No, it’s definitely not. All of these things are so trivial compared to the fact that I have a house over my head (no matter how much work it needs), that we have food on the table every night, that my husband and I are head over heels in love with each other and that we have one amazing, beautiful daughter and another on the way. We have friends, we have family and most of all we have God.

God. God, who always loves us, will never forsake us, is always there to give us guidance and wisdom, protection, comfort and a purpose in life. Who suffered a ridiculous amount of pain so that we can live. I’m pretty sure He didn’t go through that so that I could complain about trivial matters. I have much to be thankful for, and much cause to rejoice. So that is my goal for the next few weeks. Well, the rest of my life really, but it just has been really hard lately. To be thankful, to rejoice and concentrate on the good things in my life. Thanks to said friend and her hubby who inspired this post. You can read about that here.

I leave you with something that hopefully makes you smile as much as it makes me smile. 🙂

    • Fullam
    • April 9th, 2010

    yes, she definitely made me smile! 😀 did you try the giant roaring ant stomp yet? i know it doesn’t actually work, but it’s so much fun 😉

    • Tami
    • April 9th, 2010

    Wow such a good reminder! I needed to read that. Thanks for sharing Your thoughts:)

    • jes
    • April 9th, 2010

    Thanks Amanda (yes i stalk all my dayton girl’s blogs)…i’m not hormonal or pregant, but that brought a tear to my eye.
    p.s. you’re a good writer and i’m glad you started a blog. i vowed to start one when we have kids.

    • pam foster
    • April 9th, 2010

    Well that brought a hugh smile to my face and tears to my eyes. You are a talented writer and I enjoy reading your thoughts. You should submit to Guidepost or to a baby magazine. I am sure there are many women who can relate to your feelings. This could be good therapy for you to put your thoughts on paper. God is good and he has blessed us both with a wonderful family and many blessings and we all forget from time to time that we have so much to be thankful for even when we are having a bad day. Give both of my little stinkers a kiss. Love you all

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

