Cooking Lessons

Today I did my very own once-a-month cooking day. Here are some things I learned…

  • Muffins made with Bisquick taste like exactly that — Bisquick. Boring!
  • Do not put eggs on the counter. One will inevitably roll off and crack on the floor.
  • It’s okay to adapt a recipe to your own tastes, but you might want to really think it through. You could save yourself a lot of time and effort. For instance, my veggie lasagna. It called for eggplant, which I do not eat. I substituted broccoli. I do not like broccoli cuts so I bought broccoli florets. However, if I would have thought about the fact that I was mixing it with the ricotta/mozzarella cheese mixture I would have realized chopped broccoli made much more sense, saving myself the time I took to chop up the florets myself. 🙂
  • I am terrible at eyeballing things. I grossly miscalculated how much chicken I was going to need. I bought and cooked way too much. Not that any of it is going to waste, mind you, but still. Not that big of a deal since I got it at a pretty good price. But also, when trying to divide things between two pans…my two lasagnas are very uneven. Oops!
  • No matter how well you think you know a recipe, READ IT AGAIN! I was so sure the enchilada sauce called for 4 tablespoons of chicken boullion. Boy, was I wrong. 4 tablespoons and 2 teaspoons aren’t even close. I still think I managed to salvage it though. 🙂
  • It’s okay to relax and adjust things as you go. I’m a very step-by-step person when it comes to cooking/baking. It’s really hard for me to just do whatever. I’m learning to just trust my instincts but it’s a slow battle. My hubby’s many compliments and encouragement help!
  • I can handle doing this cooking thing on my own, but I really miss my partner and hope that she is up to doing it again next month!
    • Fullam
    • March 28th, 2010

    i be there for april, good Lord willin’ and the creek don’t rise! 🙂 see you today!

    • pam foster
    • March 28th, 2010

    your funny -i enjoy your writings

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

