Southwestern Chicken Soup

So this month I’m doing a cooking day on my own. My poor partner is battling the morning/afternoon/evening sickness of pregnancy so we are going to try again next month!  I decided to do some meals on my own anyway and today I got started. I did 3 of the meals today during Amelia’s nap (chili, southwestern chicken soup, and parmesan chicken burgers!) and will do the rest tomorrow while she bonds with daddy. 🙂

One of the meals I made today was Southwestern Chicken Soup. Oh. My.  I got the recipe from Once-A-Month Cooking Cookbook but ended up adapting it to my own tastes. I tasted it while it was simmering and immediately fell in love. I thought I would share the recipe in case you are interested!

Southwestern Chicken Soup

  • 1 12 oz. can Salsa Verde ( I used Herdez brand)
  • 3 cups cooked chopped chicken
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 can water
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • sour cream and shredded cheese

1. Pour salsa into large pot and cook on medium-high heat for 2 minutes.

2. Add chicken, broth, beans, tomatoes, water and cumin. Bring to a boil.

3. Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

4. Top each bowl with sour cream and shredded cheese.

To Freeze: After step 3, cool and pour into gallon freezer bags or containers.

To Serve: Thaw. Pour into large pot and heat to boiling. Reduce heat and simmer 15 minutes. Top each bowl with cheese and sour cream.

Obviously you can adapt this to your own tastes. It originally called for canellini beans, but I favor black beans. Also I added the water and the tomatoes. Here’s a picture…I gotta admit it doesn’t look that appetizing but it smells and tastes terrific! I really can’t wait to eat it…I can only hope hubby likes it too because I think this one is a keeper!

Happy eating!

    • pam foster
    • March 26th, 2010

    that really sounds good – i want to try it thanks for sharing

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

