Tiny Social Butterfly

I do not consider myself a “people person.” It’s not that I don’t like people, or enjoy talking to people or making new friends. It’s just that (1) I’m a very shy and quiet person, and (2) I’m hearing impaired. That is a deadly combination when it comes to meeting/talking with people. I find that people get annoyed when you say “what?” or “I’m sorry?” more than once or twice in a row. So it’s easier to just keep to myself. Group settings are even worse, when there is more than one conversation going on around me…it takes so much effort to focus on one and to actually understand what everyone is saying. I fear repeating what someone else just said, so I just don’t talk most of the time. Well, Amelia is changing ALL of that.

The girl is the biggest social butterfly I’ve ever met! She smiles at, waves at, and sometimes babbles at everyone she sees. I really don’t know where she gets it…neither Jeremy or I are like that. Sometimes it’s a bit frustrating…especially when we are in a hurry. Like yesterday morning. Amelia and I went to Chickfila for breakfast (free cinnamon rolls!) before heading up to my mom’s. I made the mistake of choosing a table that was near an older couple. This couple just wanted to talk to her and ask me questions. Forget trying to get Amelia to eat! Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad she is friendly and outgoing. Being shy is hard sometimes. But boy I really can’t wait to have that “don’t talk to strangers” conversation with her. :o)

    • j to the tump to ak
    • March 13th, 2010

    yes, saying “what” or “I’m sorry” IS very annoying ;oP as is Amelia’s apparent capacity for socializing. It stretches far beyond my own..

    I told you I only needed 5 more minutes =]

    • Fullam
    • March 14th, 2010

    haha. i love how our kids stretch us farther than we’d go on our own EVEN THOUGH they don’t even talk yet! it’s amazing. 😉 i’m glad she’s so quick to smile at everyone. she always puts a smile on my face with her warm little grins.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

