Pretty as a Princess

That’s a popular saying, right? Living with Jeremy for as long as I have has made me start to question a lot of things. Jeremy is a very literal person and he tends to question everything. Sometimes, it’s a tad annoying. (I love you, babe!) But, it also makes me think about things. Another thing that makes me think a lot is raising a daughter. It is downright terrifying, for a lot of reasons. Safety issues in this depraved world, self-image issues which can be so fragile in young girls’ minds and the list goes on. How in the world am I going to keep her safe shy of never letting her out of the house? How am I going to make sure she knows she is beautiful regardless of the shape of her body or what size jeans she’s wearing? Am I going to be able to  teach her that God, her Father, cherishes her more than any human on this Earth will?

I always thought that little girls’ obsession with princesses and fairy tales was a learned behavior. However, I am quickly learning that I may be wrong. Amelia has never seen any of the Disney princess movies. She doesn’t own any books or toys of that nature. Yet, whenever she sees a princess she is immediately fascinated. I’m not saying that princesses and fairy tales are bad things. I want Amelia to know that to God she is a princess and that she deserves to be treated with love and respect. I guess I just worry about the search for her prince overcoming her at too young of an age. I don’t want her to grow up obsessed with finding the right guy. I want her to be secure in herself and who she is in God. I want her to develop hobbies and talents and things that make her happy. Of course, I hope that someday she finds a guy that is as wonderful as her daddy is to me. Just when the time is right. Even though I know I have lots of time before this really becomes an issue, it’s one of those things that is on my heart a lot.

God, please help us raise our daughters to be in love with You. Help us to know that You love them more than we ever can and that You will always be there for them. Amen!

  1. AMEN!

  2. Welcome to blogging, what took you so long? You are are beautiful writer. I think about this same thing a lot as I coo at Tesaa. Glad you shared. 🙂

  3. Thanks Tricia! I’m very critical of my writing so I appreciate the compliment :o)

    • pam foster
    • March 12th, 2010

    This made me cry. You are a telented writer and a wonderful mother. I am so proud of you and the woman you have become. You are well on your way to raising a wonderful family and God will be there to help when you need him. You and the family you have created are the love of my life and I love you all. Mom

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

