Works For Me Wednesday: Reheating Rice

We eat a lot of leftovers in this house. And by we, I mean mostly my husband and sometimes me…never the kids. Wait, let me rephrase: Mostly my husband and Sofi, sometimes me… never Amelia. Getting her to eat it the first time around is struggle enough! Forget leftovers. :)

So, some of us eat a lot of leftovers in this house and very often those leftovers include rice. For years I avoided reheating rice like the plague. It got crunchy! Who wants to eat crunchy rice…unless you are eating a rice cake…with peanut butter…mmm. No, wait. Back to the point! As I was saying, warming up leftovers with rice always resulted in crunchy rice. Yuck.

Somewhere along the line, I heard of sprinkling the rice with some water before sticking it in the microwave. So I started doing that and usually it worked. However, you had to be careful with the amount of water… too little equals still crunchy rice. Too much resulted in soggy leftovers. That is one of the worst things that can happen to leftovers! Then recently, I learned a new trick. For the life of me, I cannot remember where I heard/read this so I can’t give the proper credit to anyone. Just know that I didn’t come up with it!

The trick? Cover your leftovers with a wet paper towel. It gives me soft, fluffy rice every time! If your rice is particularly crunchy…try sprinkling a few drops of water on it and covering it with a wet paper towel. Now I am no longer afraid of reheating rice.

Some of my favorite rice dishes to reheat?

Bourbon Chicken
Chicken and Broccoli
Chicken and Black Bean Green Enchilada Rice Bake

How about you? Do you have any luck reheating rice? What works for you!

I’m linked up at We Are That Family!

  1. that is a great tip. so simple! if only we had rice leftover after any meal. rice pigs here :(

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

